Crashing

Ever walk past a house wafting sumptuous BBQ smells? On my to-do list is to crash a stranger’s BBQ, act like I belong there and mooch a meal. I’ll saunter in: “Sorry I’m late. I’m a friend of Mike’s,” which is my ready line, since everyone knows someone named Mike. I’ll carry a covered dish (nothing in it, just a covered empty container, since I’m there to mooch a meal rather than feed others). Confidence is key; act like I belong and count on people at the BBQ being too timid to question me closely and kick me out. It worked a few times in Cary Grant movies when he played an imposter among rich society. John Belushi used to walk into people’s houses and raid their fridges. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

